Tags

, , , ,

Hello all, I apologize for not posting last week. I was insanely busy.

A lot of us have a friend or family member that we’re concerned about. They just don’t always seem like themselves. Believe me when I say I know what that feels like. I know it’s not fun at all.

We have this instinct where we want to protect them from anything happening, and we tend to hover. We shouldn’t do this, guys. They will most likely run if you hover. I’m not saying you shouldn’t be concerned, but a lot of people run when they’re being hovered over. I know I do.

If you’re constantly checking up on them and wanting to know everything they’re thinking about, you’re hovering. It’s hard not to, I know. But sometimes, you just need to take a step back and let them figure things out. Give them a phone call or talk to them in person and let them know you care, but let them reach out when they’re ready. If you let them know you’re there for them, they’re more likely to reach out. But if you’re constantly asking them what’s going on, they’re more likely to shut down. You’re seen as having good intentions, but they feel like they’re trapped in a cage. I would know, I’ve been there done that.

So try to take a step back from hovering. Let that loved one know you care, but let them reach out at their own pace. Now, if you feel like they’re about to harm themselves, you should definitely get help for them. But if you have no reason to believe that they’re in immediate danger, let them come to you.

download (10)

