Tags

, , , ,

Last week, I said that another child became pregnant because of her step-father raping her. I hated saying what was true. Simply because it shouldn’t be true.

Not all children become pregnant after being raped, but that doesn’t mean it’s any less wrong. Doesn’t mean it’s any less sickening. It’s heartbreaking to hear about any child that’s abused.

I’ve made it no secret that my niece has been abused. She was three at the time. It’s been a year almost to the day that she was abused by her ex-step-father.

One year later, I still cry every single time I think about it.

I’ve seen effects I can never explain. I’ve seen her be a little terror, I’ve seen her not trust men that have always been in her life, and I’ve seen her wake up in the middle of the night crying.

All because she was abused.

Did she get pregnant? No. Does that make it right? Definitely not. Child abuse has to stop, no matter what. Nobody deserves to be abused. No family deserves to have their heart broken because of what somebody in the family did.

It’s funny… Before all of this happened, I never thought it would happen in my family. I should have known that it could happen to anyone.

We always think, “That won’t happen to me,” or  “It will never happen to anyone I know.” But yet, it does. And a lot of times nobody will say anything. Because they’re scared. They’re ashamed. They think they’re the ones at fault.

You don’t have to feel this way. Don’t be afraid to speak out.

One year later, I’m more passionate about child abuse prevention than ever.

download (64)

