Tags

, , , , , ,

We all have dreams that we want to chase after. A lot of times, though, we don’t do anything to pursue them because we’re afraid of what people think.

We think, “What if they laugh at me? What if I lose friends over this? What happens if I completely fail?”

If they laugh at you, ignore them. If you lose friends over it, then they weren’t really your friends to begin with. If you completely fail, then it wasn’t meant to be. Try another dream.

I know, it’s easier said than done. Everything is. I know, nobody likes to hear that. I don’t either, but it’s so true.

I’m a writer. I’m not published yet, but I hope to be one day. My family doesn’t agree with it. They think it’s just some stupid phase that I have. It’s not, though. It’s so much more than that.

It’s not easy to have my own family ignore my dreams. It’s not easy being completely ignored at family gatherings because of it. It’s not easy feeling like I don’t belong.

I know what it’s like. I know what it feels like to feel like you’re watching a completely happy family that’s not your own. Believe me, I know.

You can’t let that stop you from achieving your dream. If it’s mean to be, it will happen. You just have to be able to chase after it.

“Follow your heart, but take your brain with you.” -Alfred Adler

images (13)

