Tags

, , , , ,

Recently, I found a link that showed a lot of statistics for bullying. There were a lot of numbers being thrown at me, but there is one very heartbreaking fact that stood out to me: Far too many adults think that bullying is “just part of being a kid.”

Say what?

Suicide is the number three leading cause of death in America. I don’t know about you, but that’s a pretty startling amount. And guess what? Most, if not all, suicide cases can be linked to bullying.

I don’t know about you, but that doesn’t sound like just part of being a kid to me.

Bullying is no joke. Many victims of bullying are embarrassed to talk about it, because they don’t want to tell anyone they’re being bullied. Being a victim of bullying myself, I know how that is. I know it’s not fun to think about, and I especially never wanted to talk about it. My naive middle school mind thought it would all go away on it’s own. I’ve been there. I know how you feel.

If someone starts talking about things like not being able to handle anything anymore, please get help for them. Look for the signs of bullying. I will post the link I found at the end of this post. If any of these signs show up, please get for this person!

Bullying needs to stop. It needed to stop a long time before now. I know it’s much easier said than done, but it must come to an end. If you or someone you know is being bullied, get help.

Check out your local Stop Bullying Now Foundation for more information on how you can help. If we all work together, we can put an end to bullying.

For more statistics, look here: http://www.bullyingstatistics.org/content/bullying-and-suicide.html

th (7)

