Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve made it no secret that my niece was sexually abused by her ex-step-father. There’s been a case that’s been going on for nearly a year with it. This past week, I found out that the case had been dropped.

I asked why the case was dropped. My sister said that my niece wouldn’t talk. They laid out pictures of all the men that have been in her life. They asked her which one did it. She pointed him out. Then they asked her what he did. She wouldn’t tell them. She would try to change the subject.

I was beyond mad when I heard this. She’s only four years old! She was traumatized at such an early age. No child should have to go through that.

What made me absolutely furious is the fact that they have enough evidence to charge him with SOMETHING. Even if it’s just sexual abuse (well, not  “just” sexual abuse, but that’s the least of what they can charge him with), you would think they would at least charge him with that.

My niece starts therapy in two weeks. I’m hoping she’ll talk then. If she does, the case will be reopened.

I wanted to talk about this, because I know my family isn’t the only one that goes through this, unfortunately enough. It is way too common a problem.

Did you know that only about ten percent of sex offenders have a criminal record? Most of them are never caught. The case is dropped or nobody reports them. I don’t know about you, but if I had a child, I wouldn’t exactly feel safe with leaving my own flesh and blood with someone I barely know. Even if it is somebody I do know, well, I can only hope for the best.

So, how do we deal with the injustice of this cruel world? Well, that’s something I may never know completely. I try to deal with it by writing about it, or writing about something else to get my mind off of it.

If you’ve been abused, please talk. I know, it may make you uncomfortable. But please, if you have the power to help make that percentage more, please do so. Don’t let another case be forgotten about.

If we work together, we can stop sexual abuse. Let’s do this, everyone.

th (2)

