Tags

, , , , ,

Today, I saw the movie The Duff. I know what you’re thinking. What does a movie have to do with being proud of yourself? If you’ve seen it, you know. If you haven’t, just wait. You’ll find out.

Duff stands for Designated Ugly Fat Friend. According to the movie, every group has one.

Looking back, I’m not so inclined to think it’s just the movie. I think it’s true to life. Personally, my friends have always been prettier than I am. At least to me. Maybe they don’t think so, but I do.

Maybe you feel like me. You feel invisible around your friends. Maybe you feel like your friends look better than you. Maybe that mean girl in school gets the guy you really want. I know, not fun.

But you know what? It’s okay. Why? Because you are you. Be proud of who you are. I’m learning to be proud of who I am, and yes, it’s definitely a struggle. Come on, battle with me. You can be proud of who you are. It’s possible. Believe me.

Dr. Suess

 

I love Dr. Seuss for a big reason. This quote. It’s a great reminder to us that we are who we’re supposed to be. I love that, don’t you? Dr. Seuss reminds us to be who we’re supposed to be. He may have a different way of writing, but this man was a genius.

So, if you ever feel like you’re the duff, don’t. It’s okay to feel like you don’t belong, but believe me when I say you do belong. Your friends like you for a reason, and if that boy or girl doesn’t like you, well, obviously they’re not worth your time.

