Tags

, , , , , , ,

I apologize for being gone for a few weeks. Life has been getting in the way, and well, I just haven’t been able to get anything done. I’m glad to be back.

I’ve made it no secret that I’ve been in an abusive relationship. Well, on here, that’s no secret. In real life, that’s a different story.

Recently, I told a good friend of mine everything that happened in the relationship. I don’t know what caused me to tell him. We were being open and honest with each other, and well, all of a sudden, I was telling him that I had been in a verbally abusive relationship. And boy, let me tell you, if it had not been a long-distance relationship, I have no doubt that I would have been more than just verbally abused.

When I told my friend about it, I felt like a huge weight had been lifted off my chest, must like I felt when I first stood up to the abuser. And the thing is, you don’t realize how much of a weight is lifted off your chest until you actually stand up to him.

If you’re in an abusive relationship, you have got to get out of it. I know, it’s difficult. I know you’re scared. I was, too. I was afraid to say that we were through just because I didn’t know what he would do. He tried using suicide as a threat to get me to stay. I didn’t want him to do that, but I didn’t want to stay in it.

Finally, I had to tell him that I didn’t care what he did and block him from my life. He’s been gone every since. I don’t know if he actually went through with suicide or not, but I can tell you that I never want to find out.

It’s not that I wanted him to die. Don’t get the idea that I did. I really didn’t want him to. I just had to stand up for myself and block him. I had to do what was best for me.

Please, be strong. It’s scary. I know it is. You have to do what’s best for you. You can do it. I know you can.

download (32)

