Tags

, , , , ,

I can see it. I can feel it. I know it’s there. You want to say it, but you don’t know how. You want to say it, but you’re afraid to. You don’t know what will happen if you say this one word.

The word I’m talking about is, “No.” You may have been there. I know I have been.

Many people fall into abusive relationships. I’ve been in a couple myself. I know how it feels to want to say, “No,” but not wanting to make him mad. I know how it feels to be treated like complete crap. Like a tool. It’s not fun.

Abusive relationships are the thing that nobody wants to talk about. Nobody wants to admit to being in. Nobody wants to reach out for help because they’re afraid to. Nobody tells anybody what’s really going on.

Here’s the thing: You can’t be afraid to say, “No.” If you don’t say it, things will continue to get worse. I know it’s hard. I know what it’s like to be afraid.

One of my favorite artists, Britt Nicole, has a song called “Don’t Worry Now.” It’s about something completely different than abusive relationships, but some of the lyrics are so true.

“I’ve been there, yeah, I know how it feels to wonder if love is even real. Don’t worry now. Don’t worry now. It’s going to be okay.” -Britt Nicole

Isn’t that just so encouraging? It will be okay. Don’t be afraid to say, “No.” Even when it’s the hardest thing ever, don’t be afraid. Get out of the relationship. It will all be okay in the end. I promise you, it will be.

download (14)

