Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sexual abuse. It’s not what anyone wants to talk about. If you’ve had it happen to you, you feel ashamed. If you haven’t, feel very, very, lucky.

I personally haven’t happen to me, but I have had it happen to someone very close to me. And someone very young. This person happens to be my four-year-old niece. Yeah, you heard me right. Four years old.

I was pretty angry at the guy that did it. Who wouldn’t be? The worst thing is, this man was her step-father. It’s terrible. Absolutely terrible.

That’s something she’s going to have to live with for the rest of her life, and at first my sister didn’t want to deal with it at all. She wanted to pretend that it never happened. As it turns out, that’s the worst thing you can do.

Finally, she got help for my niece. I was so glad when she did. I haven’t seen much progress yet, but she just started. I’m sure with time, I will see progress.

If you or someone you know has been abused, please tell someone. Get help. The worst thing you can do is live with it as your secret. My four-year-old niece didn’t really know the power of the words, “He’s been touching me.” She was just being herself and telling her mother everything that happened when she came home. Those words are every mother’s worse nightmare, but the first step to getting help.

If you have been abused, I’m begging you to get help. Being older, I understand it’s harder. You feel ashamed.  I won’t claim to completely get it, but I do understand it some. Please get help. It’s the best thing you can do.download (10)

