Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve never self-harmed, and I’m glad I never have. I’ve come close, though. I’ve never admitted that to anyone I know personally, but I won’t hesitate to tell you that I have, in fact, come pretty close.

I know others that actually have.

Self-harming is terrible. I’ve heard it’s all too easy to go to it for pain. My own sister self-harmed. She went to it for pain. She went to it just to have feelings escape her. I was little, so I didn’t understand. I judged her for it. I know now that I was wrong to do so, but I was little. I didn’t understand why she would do that.

It’s not the only way to let pain go. I’ve heard people try to tell self-harmers to “just stop.” It doesn’t work that way.

I’ve heard of the butterfly movement, or butterfly effect. Have you heard of it? It’s simple. All you have to do is draw a butterfly on your wrist, or wherever you’re cutting, and name it after someone you care about. Don’t wash it off. Let it fade naturally. You’re not allowed to cut. If you cut, you kill the butterfly.

I know, the butterfly effect doesn’t work for everyone, but I’ve heard many stories where it helped someone to stop cutting. I’m happy every single time I hear this. I’m always glad when I hear yet another success story about someone that was able to stop self-harming.

There’s hope in the world for self-harmers, and I’m proven time and time again that the butterfly is powerful. It’s a beautiful creature that has such an effect on people.

Next time you feel the urge to cut, don’t do it. Draw a butterfly instead.

Hold your head up high, everyone. There’s hope in the world.

~Courtney

