Tags

, , , , , ,

Eventually, I hope to post every other day. I’m working on getting through the holidays and getting back on a regular schedule.

As I mentioned last time, my niece was sexually abused at just three years old by her step-father. That was the most horrifying experience in my life. It was even more horrifying for her, I’m sure.

I never thought something like that could happen to someone in my family. I’ve always lived a life of over-protective parents, so I always thought that everyone in my family would be well protected. As much as it pains me, I was wrong.

I’ve always said that I would never forgive my former brother-in-law. Always. I knew there was a reason I never trusted him. I never liked him. Not even when my sister first started dating him.

My niece has always been a very sweet little girl who behaved most of the time. Yes, most of the time. Even the best kids have their bad days. Unfortunately, ever since her encounter with her step-father, she has not behaved. At all. It’s like she’s forgotten how. It breaks my heart to see that she doesn’t behave anymore. Such a small life ruined forever because of an idiot.

My sister said that she would feel like a failure if she got help for her child, but she realized she needed it. So, at last, there is an appointment set up for a counselor. I have never been more thankful for anything in my entire life.

I don’t know if you’ve been sexually abused, but if you have, therapy is essential. I know it’s hard to admit you need help, but it’s the only way the fear may be lessened. Being sexually abused can tear you apart. I’m thankful I have never personally experienced it, but I can see it with my niece. There’s pain. Even if you think you’re hiding it, it can still be seen.

Getting therapy is the first step to moving forward. I know it can be difficult, and I know it can be heartbreaking. Please, get help. I know you can get past this.

Hold your head up high. You can do this.

~Courtney

